Why Do You Blog?

Please note: This was written for my tumblr – Damaged & Dangerous – before I had a WordPress. But it applies equally to WordPress. I had a previous WordPress blog many Moons ago, which I deleted for reasons explained below.

For every blog which exists, there is a story behind its creation. For some answering this question is easy, for others it is more complicated. The longer you have a blog, the more the answer evolves as the blog evolves, from whatever impulse first inspired you to start a blog, to all the reasons why you keep blogging. There are those who have multiple blogs, perhaps with a different reason for each one.

Self-expression is probably the most obvious answer. Sometimes you just have to get whatever is inside out and release it. To let your wild self out of its cage and let it roam freely all over the pages of a blog. Because it is fun, liberating, empowering, an escape, a sanctuary from the offline world. A way to indulge a passion for something or someone. Perhaps it is the only place where you can truly be yourself, either openly or anonymously. Perhaps it will be seen by someone who can appreciate it, understand it, and connect with it. Perhaps it will help someone who is in a similar situation, or someone will help you. The possibilities are endless.

Someone asked me what prompted me to start writing my blog. I love this question. I had to pause for a long time to think about my reasons.

The cheeky answer would be to say ‘I blog because I can’. Which is true, but it’s just the tip of the answer. Certain questions have many layers of answers. My original impetus for starting this blog was as a challenge to myself.

I had a tumblr before this one. It was my first blog, and I made all the mistakes I could possibly make with it. It was a wonderful learning curve experience, and I loved it dearly, but in the end it had to go. What made me delete it was the fact that I was only expressing one side of my character, and it became a bit static and unbalanced. The other sides of my character took umbrage. I didn’t feel able to change it to incorporate all of me. I tried having more than one blog, but I ended up fragmenting myself, spreading myself too thin until I had nothing left to give or say. I gave up on all forms of online self expression for a while, and thought I would never return, but a couple of friends inspired me to try again.

This time around I’m trying to give expression to all of me in one place. Which is why I linked it to my Twitter, and vice versa, so I wouldn’t be tempted to split myself up. I’m also not holding back, much. Part of me is very secretive and reserved, part of me is blunt, open, and a bit too honest at times. The two sides often fight over what to share and what to keep hidden. Who wins and who loses really just depends on the moment. I also have many other sides which all want to have their say. Sometimes they all talk at once and I can’t focus on any of them. The angry bit wants to have a rant, the loving bit wants to inspire, the philosophical side wants to go off on a tangential thinking trip, the warped humorous trickster wants to have a laugh, the emotional side wants to spill itself everywhere, and so on. The only side I have to control and curb is the dark destroyer, it likes to lay waste to everything I create.

My writing posts are one of the main reasons this blog exists. The image posts, the quotes, and all the other bits and pieces are important to me, but they are easy to do, fun, relaxing, they reflect what I do in the evenings, roaming the internet exploring all the treasures which are there to be found and enjoyed. They express the subtler sides of my nature. I am very visual, I love to read, and I love discovering artists, authors, creations, and indulging my eyes, my senses, my mind, and such. The writing is the challenging part. I keep a lot to myself, revealing my thoughts, emotions, and inner self is strange and unnerving. It takes time to write each post, and I always do them on the day, which can be difficult due to my offline life intruding on my efforts to have peace and quiet to concentrate. My text software is a bit glitchy and likes to delete my work, or autocorrect it until nothing makes any sense, although the results can be very humorous at times. Then there is the secret internal editing police which is always checking up on me, tutting and saying ‘You can’t say that!’. And the impatient side always looking over my shoulder saying ‘Are you still writing! What could you possibly have to say which is taking this long!’. When I said writing was a challenge, perhaps I understated just how much of a challenge it is sometimes, but it can be very satisfying, illuminating, cathartic, and fun too.

Blogging is a fantastic thing to do. It has many benefits. The most rewarding of which for me has been your reactions to my words, and how much you have helped me with your own words, thoughts, and the things which you have shared with me. Thank you from the depths of me to the depths of you. I think that that is perhaps the single most valuable reason for blogging. To discover all the amazing people who exist in this wonderfully crazy world of the blogosphere.

So, Why do you blog?