Why Do Certain Songs Get Stuck In Our Heads?

I woke up this morning with a song stuck in my head. It didn’t come from the dream I was having just before I awoke, at least, I don’t remember any songs playing in my dream. They occasionally do. I recall many years ago Moon River playing so loudly in a dream that I had to wake up just to get away from the noise. And once I sang a Russian song in Russian. I’m not fluent in Russian, I know a couple of words, and that’s it.

Anyway… I woke up with Revolution by The Beatles. And it has been playing on repeat in my head all day. Which is very annoying. I’m not a fan of the band, although I do like a couple of their songs and enjoyed watching Help.

I don’t actually listen to music that often. Especially music with lyrics because my mind likes to argue with lyrics and it can ruin the experience of listening to songs. It can be amusing, but overall it’s just an argument that I don’t particularly want to have.

So… at the moment… things are like this in my head:

Beatles: You say you want a revolution…

Me: No, no, I never said that, why would you think that I did.

Beatles: Well, you know… We all want to change the world…

Me: You’re making a generalised assumption. Sure there are certain things I might like to change about the world, but the world is continuously changing and…

Beatles: You tell me that it’s evolution…

Me: Yes, it’s evolution, that’s the rhythm of life, and…

Beatles: Well, you know… We all want to change the world…

Me: You already said that. Besides we can only change the world by changing ourselves from within first, and…

Beatles: But when you talk about destruction…

Me: When was I talking about destruction? I was thinking about destruction the other day, but it was connected to death and rebirth as a natural law… and my own inner self destructive tendencies…

Beatles: Don’t you know that you can count me out…

Me: Count you out of what? Out of natural law? Or my personal stuff, frankly I wasn’t counting you in on my personal stuff, or asking for your permission to self destruct…

Beatles: Don’t you know it’s gonna be… all right…

Me: I really don’t need you to tell me that, things work out the way they do and I adapt…

Beatles: All right, all right…

Me: You like to repeat yourselves, don’t you… You’re not really listening to me, are you, you’re just talking for the sake of talking, but you’re doing it inside my head and that is very annoying so…

Black Eyed Peas: Shut up, just shut up, shut up… Shut up, just shut up, shut up… Shut up, just shut up, shut up… Shut it up, just shut up, shut up…

Luckily I can only recall the first verse of Revolution, or the argument would be much longer… perhaps that would move it on a bit… it’s stuck on a loop at the moment.

So, why do certain songs get stuck in our head. The mind is very logical, and makes associations. There is always a reason for everything it does, for the images it conjures up, the obsessions it has, the things it notices and the things it filters out, the memories which pop up out of the blue, and the songs it remembers and plays on repeat until it drives you crazy… No! No! No!

Fine Young Cannibals: She drives me crazy… Like no one else… She drives me crazy… and I can’t help myself.

