Going Around In Circles

The other day in a slightly experimental post, I wrote:

Ouroboros. What? Why? I don’t know, that’s what popped into my mind. Fantasy eating reality eating fantasy eating reality. Not eating, the opposite, regurgitating, throwing up. Maybe Ouroboros isn’t eating itself, it is regurgitating itself.

A friend of mine read the post while I was debating whether to post it or not, really loved it and encouraged me to make it public. I was hesitant to post it publicly even though I had great fun writing it… it was sort of free association… a bit insane, but very liberating… but I thought it would be too weird for anyone who read it. After a moment of deliberation, I decided to post it, figured no one would probably read it anyway. That’s my exit from self-consciousness.

Today another friend who read my post popped by for a visit and as we were chatting away about this and that they said – Oh! I heard something the other day which I think you’ll love. They then proceeded to tell me about this philosopher who had conjectured that the Ouroboros wasn’t eating itself but regurgitating itself.

I was quiet for a few seconds. I wasn’t sure if my friend was taking the proverbial, or whether they had indeed read elsewhere the same idea I had played with in my post. I am always aware of the fact that everything has been said before. That was in my loopy experimental post too:

Everything has been done before, thought before, said before, but when we don’t know that it has… we think we are the first to do it, think it, say it.

I pointed out to my friend that I had written something similar in my post which they had read. They laughed. I laughed. They laughed a bit more. They admitted that the tidbit they had wanted to share with me which they thought I would like came from my post, the idea had appealed to their mind but they had forgotten the source of it. We both burst into fits of isn’t life and aren’t humans ridiculous laughter.

Moments like this fill me with a strangely wondrous joy. Life and humans are hilarious and I love them! When I love life and humans, I love myself too which is bliss!

That incident reminded me of one of my favourite songs:

Billy Preston – Will It Go Round In Circles – feat. Eric Clapton

I chose this version because there is great energy to the on stage interactions, it’s live, and the audio is out of sync with the video.  Love me a bit of desynchronisation!