Movie Watch… at least a few of the ones I remember watching this week.

Thought I’d share a few of the films I’ve watched this week (as in the past few days or maybe more, time is elusive) in case you’re looking for something to see.

Most were viewed via Netflix as the Lovefilm app has a sound problem for me which is mysterious and can’t be fixed due to being mysterious. That’s mystery for you!

Please note I suck at reviewing films. These are just my impressions.

1. Damsels in Distress (2011)

Enjoyed this quirky film very much. Greta Gerwig is excellent as are all the other cast members. It’s not at all what I expected, which is a good thing, as the write up made it sound like something which I would avoid. I don’t like films about college. Or chick flicks. Or romance. This is all of those and none of those.

2. Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives (2010)

Soporific and very relaxing. Weird. Not sure what was going on or why or anything really, and the ending was completely… I have no idea. But it was strangely wonderful.

3. V/H/S (2012)

If you can get past the first five minutes it gets much better. It is a collection of short films written and directed by several indie talented clever clots. The one who drew me into it is Joe Swanberg. I’ve been watching his creations lately. Scary. Gory. Lots of shaky camera filming. And all brunettes are to be feared, especially the seemingly meek ones.

4. Uncle Kent (2011)

Not sure how to describe this. Cat. Cartoonist. Internet relationship. And stuff about life. Nice. A bit sad. Like life.

5.  Seeking a Friend for the End of the World (2012)

I’m not a fan of the leading man and lady, but I’m not not a fan. A bit wary of the films they are in. The main story involving the leads was a bit typical, cute but.. However I liked the concept and the supporting cast and the parts they played very much, especially the policeman and the cleaning lady.

6.  The Year Dolly Parton Was My Mom (2011)

Has a slight Stepford Wives vibe… and then it doesn’t. Very nice, very contemplative. I don’t usually like coming of age films because… been there and it wasn’t like that. This was a change from the usual and yet not.

7. Only Human (2004)

Spanish film about a Jewish woman who brings her Palestinian boyfriend home to meet her family. Hijinks, hilarity, faux pas, and quite a bit of cringing ensues. Really it is just about being human, and all the stuff which that entails.

8. Fish Story (2009)

I watched this a while ago. Very memorable so I included it in here, because it is worth seeing if you like very unusual films. The song will get stuck in your brain. If you watch it, you’ll understand what I mean. Philosophy with a humorous twist.

9. Kung Fu Hustle (2004)

I’m really stretching this week thing. I saw this yonks ago… but I would watch it again and again. Absolutely brilliant.

Kung Fu Hustle – Knife Scene (with subtitles)


I watched several other films this week, such as… something Swedish which had Rolf Lassgard and Peter Stormare, both actors I really like, in it and I nearly lost the will to live, too farfetched… and what was that weird thing about the lobotomy and dancing?… I can’t really remember them. Really can’t remember why I thought this was a good idea for a post… press ‘publish’ anyway.