What Day Is It Today…?

Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.” – Anthony G. Oettinger

I have never been in sync with time… tick tock clock time. I have my own version of time which is flexible, makes swooshing sound and moves differently from the way we are supposed to view such a thing. It is more, as Doctor Who would say, wibbly wobbly timey wimey.

Yesterday was a bank holiday, so in my mind Monday became another Sunday, thus today is Monday, but it’s actually Tuesday, but it’s not. It doesn’t feel like a Monday or a Tuesday, more like a Saturday, I think, or perhaps a Thursday. Thursdays always have a Saturday feel to them.

I could blame the bank holiday for knocking my weekdays off kilter, but my weeks are always a bit like this. Some weeks I have two Tuesdays and no Wednesdays. I don’t like Wednesdays. Not really sure why, perhaps because of that rhyme:

Monday’s child is fair of face,

Tuesday’s child is full of grace,

Wednesday’s child is full of woe,

Thursday’s child has far to go,

Friday’s child is loving and giving,

Saturday’s child works hard for a living,

But the child who is born on the Sabbath Day

Is bonny and blithe and good and gay.

It just stuck in my mind and now I associate Wednesday with woe. That and something to do with when I went to school in Paris. I don’t recall what it was about Wednesdays, they were either much longer or shorter hours at school. Oh, I know! It was track day. I hated track day!

Running around in a circle is not my idea of fun or progress. You expend huge amounts of effort just to end up exactly where you started, only now you’re tired and sweaty and out of breath. Might as well stand still, since you end up in the same place anyway and you’ve reserved energy for things which will actually get you somewhere else.

I don’t mind going around in a circle if the circle is actually a spiral going up or down or sideways, at least it is going somewhere.

If I’m not making sense… then at least I’m normal today. I woke up with a start when the doorbell rang very early. It was not an unexpected visitor, we had an appointment for first thing Tuesday morning, but today is Monday in my time, so really they arrived a day early, and I’m going to be perplexed when they don’t turn up tomorrow at the arranged time even though I saw them today and we accomplished what we had agreed to do.

I don’t function well when I wake up suddenly. I need time to shed my dream skin, if I don’t do that then the entire day becomes surreal and I am not sure if I’m awake or dreaming. I am writing this unsure right now… since my dreams can be very vivid, and since I often dream of writing posts and blogging… la la la!

The dream I was having was… no idea, but it is clinging to me, whispering images in my mind’s eye. I don’t feel real, yet I am not unreal, or am I? Oh dear… today is… What day is it today?