Little things comfort us because little things distress us…

Blaise Pascal by Augustin Pajou

Blaise Pascal by Augustin Pajou

“I have made this letter longer, because I have not had the time to make it shorter.” – Blaise Pascal

I got this quote today when I published my last post. I thought this particular quote was very apt, considering that I am a Drossmeister.

Do you ever read the quotes WordPress gives you when you publish a post?

Who is the blogging elf who chooses those quotes and how many do they have from which to choose?

“Little things comfort us because little things distress us.”  – Blaise Pascal

I am seriously ruminating over the idea of starting a blog award called – The Drossmeister – to be given by oneself to oneself as a way of saying… you know, sometimes I just have to write really long posts because I need to, and because I don’t know which bits are dross and which are not dross… and may never know.

“The last thing one discovers in composing a work is what to put first.” – Blaise Pascal

Do you write your posts for yourself or for others?

Do you know which bits are dross, as in which bits are the parts others skip when and if they read what you have written?

I don’t.

“Man’s sensitivity to the little things and insensitivity to the greatest are the signs of a strange disorder.” – Blaise Pascal

And… although I am deeply touched when others read my posts, because… well there is only so much time in our lives and for someone to give you the gift of their time… WOW!… Thank you!

“Even those who write against fame wish for the fame of having written well, and those who read their works desire the fame of having read them.” – Blaise Pascal

…I just have to do what I feel compelled from within to do.

And thinking about what others need from me… gets me into so much trouble, with others and with myself, and I fall into a sinkhole inside my mind, and then nothing gets written or shared because I return to that silent place from which I blogging has helped me to emerge.

“The heart has its reasons which reason knows not.” – Blaise Pascal