Get Your Sneak On!


Creep by MoonVooDoo

Feeling a little self conscious are you, Daily Prompt? Want to know what we think about you and your pokes and prods into our writing minds and fingers?

Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky
Are writing prompts a useful exercise, or do you find them to be too limiting and/or hokey?
Photographers, artists, poets: show us SNEAKY.

Ever since a friend pointed me in the direction of The Daily Post and all the challenges and prompts they hand out very generously, it’s made blogging just that little bit more fun than it already was before I discovered such a treasure trove of inspiration.

So… YES, I find the prompts a useful exercise…but I don’t see it as an exercise, I see it as a conversation starter.

Are you listening, Daily Prompt?

Because you asked a question, one which is personal and pertinent to you, and so you should really pay attention to the answer.

Perhaps you’ve noticed I’ve submitted a few prompts. I like to return favours, especially when I have benefited from one. Give back where I have received and keep the flow of sharing going.

And you have helped me, less with the writing bit because I still have loads to say, so I haven’t dried out yet and hit the writer’s block wall… what you’ve helped me with is to feel more a part of the WordPress community.

I must confess that I was a bit wary of WordPress. I had a suspicion that it was mainly for poncy writers or wannabe writers or businesses… I was wrong. It is absolutely teeming with fascinating and wonderful souls who share their views, lives and words very generously. I apologise for being an asshole… it happens unfortunately, it’s in my DNA.

It takes me a while to warm up to things, to learn how they work and don’t work, what all the ins and outs, and dos and don’t are, and so on… so the photo above expresses that for me… it’s me slowly sliding in, sneaking and creeping as I slide, lurking, observing, gathering information… my confidence very gradually gaining momentum as I feel more and more at ease with the place I am moving into.

I have only just browsed and scratched the surface of this WordPress world and all its dimensions… it is very beautiful here, but rather daunting for a timid soul… a timid soul who often uses fierceness to disguise her tenderness… who is actually naturally fierce and slightly crazy.

I recently followed the Daily Post’s lovely Michelle W’s blog – King of States. I also checked out her photo blog – Pictures of Things, because I realised that it was one of her photographs which was used for the Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words.

I hope I didn’t frighten her if she noticed my follow.

I do have a habit of frightening people just by being myself. I am blog stalking her because she has a vibe I want to know more about… nothing creepy about what I did, perhaps a little bit sneaky.

And I want to know more about all the magical beings who help to create this WordPress Wonderland.Again… nothing creepy about it, perhaps a little bit sneaky.