Six Degrees of Separation

“Six degrees of separation is the theory that everyone and everything is six or fewer steps away, by way of introduction, from any other person in the world, so that a chain of “a friend of a friend” statements can be made to connect any two people in a maximum of six steps. It was originally set out by Frigyes Karinthy and popularized by a play written by John Guare.”via Wikipedia… as usual.


Have you ever played this game – Six Degrees of Separation?

Have you ever played the alternative version – Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon?

If you have, what were the results and what did they mean to you?

A bit of fun?

An insightful journey?

An ego trip?


A load of bollocks?

Maybe a soupcon of all of the above.

I am less than six degrees away from Noel Coward. Yay! Why? Just because I think his work is brilliant! But really it doesn’t mean a thing about me, it’s just a bit of fun! Or… does it and is it!?!

Connections are everywhere and we are all more closely connected than we feel is appropriate at times!

I am tied by blood to someone who was a friend of Noel Coward’s, and who was also in a classic oldie film in a small supporting role. I love the oldies but goodies! Is this because of that relativity? I wonder…

I love playing games, especially wondering games…

I am also less than six degrees away from Kevin Bacon, and not just because he appears on my TV almost every night in an advert… Ha! I have a cousin who works in Hollywood, whose job brings them into close physical contact with film luminaries.

I am a nobody based on the somebody to nobody scale of ridiculous hierarchy. I’m happy with that result. It’s less stressful.

So, your turn, care to share your degree?

Feel free to use this as a writing prompt and pingback, link, or nothing, or whatever you want to do! No prizes just a bit of fun which may lead to… wherever you want it to lead!