What’s my name all about?

This is the post from this blog which astounded me and fed my mind until it burst! This post made me a Rob’s Surf Report addict.

I love research. It’s something I do with passion, but not to this extent, yet this is the extent to which I secretly aim and miss… with perhaps a sigh of relief that I am not this obsessive of detail… yet I wish I was sometimes.

Awesome post, and if you want to explore the shenanigans of the meaning of your name, read this and click those links. It totally topsy-turveyed my mind and I loved the upside-down tumble!

And so it’s no surprise that I nominated this blog for a bundle of blog awards – Here .

Check Rob’s Surf Report out… and surf the tidal wave of modern philosophical genius who doesn’t know he’s a philosophical genius… or does he!?!

Rob's Surf Report

Here’s what I already knew about my name:

Robert means “bright fame”. It is Germanic in origin, coming from the Old High German Hrodebert. It came into the English language via the Norman Invasion and actually replaced a similar-sounding name in Old English. Now, Robert is a very common name borne by many famous people, including Robert the Bruce, the liberator of Scotland in the early 1300’s; and Robert Burns, the Bard of Scotland.

I was named Robert, as the story goes, because the name intended for me was already taken. Without naming names, the story goes that my parents had planned to name their son Jeffrey Scott, and by the time they had one, that name had been used within the family, so they changed the plan and named me Robert Wendell instead – the Robert coming from my father’s middle name, which is the name…

View original post 1,471 more words