Let Yourself Out and Just Be…

I’ve posted this song and video before…

Sara Bareilles – Brave

I absolutely adore it, the message and energy of it, so I’m posting it again because the lyrics say it all:

“Brave”

You can be amazing
You can turn a phrase into a weapon or a drug
You can be the outcast
Or be the backlash of somebody’s lack of love
Or you can start speaking up
Nothing’s gonna hurt you the way that words do
When they settle ‘neath your skin
Kept on the inside and no sunlight
Sometimes a shadow wins
But I wonder what would happen if you

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

With what you want to say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I wanna see you be brave

I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I wanna see you be brave

Everybody’s been there,
Everybody’s been stared down by the enemy
Fallen for the fear
And done some disappearing,
Bow down to the mighty
Don’t run, just stop holding your tongue
Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live
Maybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave is

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

With what you want to say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

And since your history of silence
Won’t do you any good,
Did you think it would?
Let your words be anything but empty
Why don’t you tell them the truth?

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

With what you want to say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I wanna see you be brave

I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
See you be brave

I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you

I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you

Sara Bareilles – Brave

If you’ve been trapped in silence, like I have, this song will speak to you… and if you’re still trapped there, use this post to say what you want to say… you can do it anonymously… just get it out!

I just want to see you… and so do you, because you are beautiful! Still questioning your beauty, then:

“There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all of time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and it will be lost. The world will not have it. It is not your business to determine how good it is nor how valuable nor how it compares with other expressions. It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly, to keep the channel open. You do not even have to believe in yourself or your work. You have to keep yourself open and aware to the urges that motivate you. Keep the channel open. … No artist is pleased. [There is] no satisfaction whatever at any time. There is only a queer divine dissatisfaction, a blessed unrest that keeps us marching and makes us more alive than the others.” ― Martha Graham

If you think you’re a freak… welcome to the club. Your special brand of freak is gorgeous and only you have it, let it shine like a wild and wonderful light:

Circus Divas Carlos Ostos Sabugal

Circus Divas – Carlos Ostos Sabugal

We’re all freaks, some hide it… why!?! Well, that’s what some freaks do, maybe it’s a part of their freak, because:

Le Freak – Chic

Freak out… what a liberating experience!

No one knows why we are here or what we are doing… some pretend they do because that’s their freak. Your freak… well, let yourself express it. Still having misgivings…

“Nobody cares if you can’t dance well. Just get up and dance. Great dancers are great because of their passion.” ― Martha Graham

And if you still care about what others are thinking about you… apart from the fact that they’re wondering what you’re thinking about them:

“What people in the world think of you is really none of your business.” ― Martha Graham

Once you make it your business, your business gets owned by others… so shrug and just be who you are, I know it’s difficult, but the challenge is there for a reason.

Shine on you crazy diamond! You’re brilliant and beautiful! Even the ugly is lovely! So don’t use ugly as an excuse not to ROAR and shine and speak out!

*I didn’t do this post for the challenge… but posts are always a challenge, so… I’m getting my freak on!

Little miss sunshine 😉

Rick James – Super Freak

Yeah… well some things have many different interpretations… how you see it, well… that’s up to you!