I Advise You To Be Less Resolute

I have to confess… I rarely if ever do the New Year’s Resolution thing mainly because I know that a resolution is like a challenge to me to do the exact opposite of it or something else, still rebellious, entirely. Who do I think I am telling myself what I should be doing from the safe distance of being in the old year when I haven’t a clue what the New Year is actually going to bring in the way of challenges for which I will need the energy I might waste trying to fulfill a resolution that’s really only my ego being an ego.

I have tried this New Year’s resolution thing as an experiment, and I know have a sculpture – a treadmill because the gym membership expired unused after the first few weeks of a January – in that weird room that isn’t a room known as that space cluttered with stuff between the kitchen and the rest of the house.

Anyway… Just followed this blog because I was searching for Zeus and found him… and it’s full of brilliance, written by someone born on the day of the witch (La Befana), the day before I fell from heaven and landed on earth with a thump and caused several earthquakes and probably some loss of life (soooo sorry about that)… so brilliant of course😉

Love this post! So I’m stealing it and decorating my blog with it!

Please, if you are making resolutions, give up and use that time to peruse this blog!

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

BlutoDear Modern Philosopher,

Happy Holidays!  I can’t believe another year is almost over.  Where does all the time go?

I’m writing to you today because I’m having trouble coming up with my list of New Year’s resolutions.  I wanted to try something new this year, and by “new” I mean something that I might actually do so I don’t feel like a failure next New Year’s Eve.

I’m always resolving to lose weight, meet someone to share my life with, learn a new language, do some work on the house, and take down the Christmas lights before Valentine’s Day.  I never seem to get around to doing any of those things.

So what do you propose?  What are Modern Philosophers resolving to do in 2014?  Any help you can offer would be much appreciated.

Happy New Year!

Resolved To Change In 2014

resolutionsDear Resolved,

Happy Holidays to you as well. …

View original post 247 more words