My Sweet Tooth prefers Salt… but I call my Sugar, Candy

Candy — Big Maybelle

I don’t really have a sweet tooth.

Never have had one.

As a child… I used to do something very socially unacceptable but which was hardly noticed by adults (those authorities on socially acceptable stuff – do as I say and not as I do) when around a table in a restaurant, one of those restaurants which had a little bowl of salt next to a bowl of pepper with some toothpicks in between… I used to pick up a toothpick, lick it and dip it in the salt bowl, then suck it like a lollipop.

When I swam in the sea, I used to let my fingers dry out then lick them like a lollipop.

I liked the taste of salt.

I still like the taste of salt.

I prefer salt to sugar, salt is my sugar.

Sugar is nice, but salt… yummmm.

I used to think that being understood was important, vital… I sought it out like a treasure.

Then…

Understanding became more important than being understood.

Slowly… being understood lost its appeal, not important, doesn’t matter…

But understanding, using my mind to understand, using my feelings to understand… that became vital… and still is… the salt of life.

I don’t need anyone to understand me… I appreciate it… but… let me understand you, that is far more important to me…

Perhaps I can see, feel, think this way because… one person took the time to get to know me and understand me, and understands me.

My need to be understood has been met…

That’s all I needed and now it is my turn to stop thinking about me and think about you… understand you… all because of one person…

He’s my sugar in my salt loving world…

And I call my sugar, Candy… my understanding Candy…

 

