A Frog in my Flip Flop

caring, not caring


Today is one of those days where the sublime is juxtaposed against the ridiculous.

I was in the garden hanging out laundry, paying more attention to what my hands were doing than what my feet were up to in the undergrowth of the garden, when lo and behold, something sticky and squishy against the skin of my sensitive sole alerted me to an irregularity in my footwear.

I lifted my foot and shook it, and out popped a rather confused looking frog.

Yuk! – he ribbitted while sitting stunned in the grass below my be-flip-flopped foot. – I was rudely touched by a human, I may never be accepted by my kind again now that I smell like a human, not that they accepted me anyway as I’m the sort of frog who climbs into flip flops and allows myself to be touched by a human sole.

This interlude was the sublime part of my day.

It’s not really warm enough to wear flip flops at the moment, but eff it!

The ridiculous part of my day involves only humans, particularly those who call themselves family and seem to think they can do whatever they bloody well please and you’ll put up with it. Not only will you put up with it, you’ll think it’s right and stuff they want you to think, you’ll bend over backwards until you are in pain to please those who only care about their own pain and such. The sort of humans who think they know you, because they made you, own you and can invent who you are for them. Beware not living up to their illusion of who you should be. They can unmake you should their needs require for you to be unmade.

But they don’t know you or own you. They may have made you, but at some point you became autonomous and they can’t unmake what has claimed its own life and chosen to walk its own path… no matter what they think they can do. The power of thought is limited, even if humans think it’s unlimited.

Yes, I’m being slightly abstruse… such is my way, and I walk it with a certain swagger. Sometimes I look like a frog when I walk.

Funnily enough, one of the nicknames given to me as a child was – Kaeru – which is Japanese for frog.

Sublimely ridiculous or ridiculously sublime!

Who cares…!….?