Don’t explain your philosophy. Embody it.



“Don’t explain your philosophy. Embody it.” ― Epictetus

Me: Stay still just for one frigging minute!

Ladybird: Why? I am a being who moves, why else would I have wings and feet.

Me: I want to take a photo of you.

Ladybird: And how exactly does this concern me?

Me: Because you’re my subject.

Ladybird: No, I am an object to you and I object to you and your want.

Me: What do you mean by that!?!

Ladybird: If I were a subject to you, you would study me as I am, moving. You would seek to understand me, and therefore realise that it is in my nature to move. You would be interested in me as a being who is separate from you. A subject is not an object which you want to capture, it is a fluid essence of life, which moves and keeps moving.

Me: I just want you to stop for a minute so I can take a photo of you, that is all!

Ladybird: You humans are a species that wants, and somehow think your wants are the concern of others. Your want is not my concern. If I concern myself with your want, and fulfill it… that is not all,  you will have more.

Me: But you’re so beautiful!

Ladybird: Everything is beautiful, there is nothing special about it, it is just the way it is.

Me: I’m taking this shot anyway, whether you stay still or not!

Ladybird: Now that is beautiful… maybe you’ll understand it some day.

Me: I want to understand it now!

Ladybird: ………………… *flies away

happiness by zen pencils

by zenpencils