In a cloud of smoke

SmokeClouds

“Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming “Wow! What a Ride!” ― Hunter S. Thompson

 

This is one of my favourite quotes from one of my favourite authors.

It is also one of my favourite pieces of advice about life and living it.

When someone tells me, either through voice or writing or otherwise, how life should be lived according to them… I listen, consider it, appreciate it, then continue doing things the way I am doing them because my life is mine, and their life is theirs, the twain have met but only in passing… have shared a moment, a perspective, and moved on.

Sometimes someone says exactly what I need to hear because I am doubting my own way of doing things… they echo my own thoughts and I listen, consider it and appreciate it very differently as it says – continue doing things the way that you are doing them as this option suits you and the way that you are.

We all have ideas about what life should be or should not be, of who we should be or should not be, of who others should be and should not be, how others should live and should not live, of how we should live and should not live…and so on.

Sometimes we view our ideas as being written in stone…

Sometimes we know that they are ideas…

To be expressed, shared, there to inspire one way or another, fluid, elemental…

That they can change like the shape of smoke, the shape of clouds…

 

“You are sitting and smoking; you believe that you are sitting in your pipe, and that your pipe is smoking you; you are exhaling yourself in bluish clouds. You feel just fine in this position, and only one thing gives you worry or concern: how will you ever be able to get out of your pipe?” ― Charles Baudelaire