Wiggle Room



“But I always liked side-paths, little dark back-alleys behind the main road- there one finds adventures and surprises, and precious metal in the dirt.” ― Fyodor Dostoyevsky


I didn’t find any adventure or surprise or precious metal while exploring the back alleys and side paths of this village. At the end of this particular shortcut, carved between seemingly rickety ancient buildings which were standing the test of time far better than I ever would, I came across…

Not a troll demanding that I pay a toll to pass or any other mythical beastie but a human being crouched upon small stone steps enjoying their sandwich in rays of sunshine which appeared to be shining specifically for them as they touched nothing else but this person.

It was a lovely sight. A simple one. A human snatching a moment of pleasurable solitude, not alone but reveling in their own company.

They were not annoyed when I showed up. Nor perplexed. Nor anything other than aware that others exist and know of these secret places. We greeted each other, not with a masonic handshake or anything of that ilk, just as human to human.

They moved a bit to let me pass.

I moved a bit to pass.

There was still plenty of wiggle room between us.


“It is not the brains that matter most, but that which guides them — the character, the heart, generous qualities, progressive ideas.” ― Fyodor Dostoyevsky