Internet Treasures: Fun Ways to analyse your Blog

My post yesterday was rather serious, as I was in a deeply contemplative mood.

As is often the case when I feel myself diving too deeply into the inner ocean, especially the dark parts of it, which is necessary and rewarding, but I don’t want to drown or lose my sense of perspective, I tend to find ways to balance things out and create a bit of lighthearted buoyancy.

While browsing the wondrous riches of the WordPress community, I came across a blog which shares links to this, that and all sorts.

I had been searching for posts related to my MBTI – INTP – and getting rather cross (in a superficial manner) that so many of the results were for INTJ’s. I have nothing against that type at all – I suppose if I tried I could find something which annoys me about them, but since I’m a ‘P’ rather than a ‘J’ that’s not how my mind works (see what I did there – nudge nudge wink wink) –  what was irking me was that I wasn’t finding what I was looking for… yet sometimes that is the best way to find something.

And then I found this:

A post about – Typealyzer via A Feast For The Vain

Which led me to this:

Typealyzer – which analyses your blog and figures out its overall MBTI. You can read more about it via the About page and find out about its creator, Jon Kågström.

So I vainly inputted my blog url to see what MBTI my blog is, and if it would be the same as my type. Funnily enough I got the same result as the blogger who introduced me to this nifty link and sort of game.



ISTP blog

Which is only one letter away from my own type, and as I read it I thought – perhaps I have my MBTI wrong. I don’t, but I’m open to being wrong even when I know I’m right.

The differences between ‘N’ and ‘S’ in the MBTI is not really that different:


Sensing (S)
Paying attention to physical reality, what I see, hear, touch, taste, and smell. I’m concerned with what is actual, present, current, and real. I notice facts and I remember details that are important to me. I like to see the practical use of things and learn best when I see how to use what I’m learning. Experience speaks to me louder than words.

The following statements generally apply to me:

    I remember events as snapshots of what actually happened.
    I solve problems by working through facts until I understand the problem.
    I am pragmatic and look to the “bottom line.”
    I start with facts and then form a big picture.
    I trust experience first and trust words and symbols less.
    Sometimes I pay so much attention to facts, either present or past, that I miss new possibilities.

Intuition (N)
Paying the most attention to impressions or the meaning and patterns of the information I get. I would rather learn by thinking a problem through than by hands-on experience. I’m interested in new things and what might be possible, so that I think more about the future than the past. I like to work with symbols or abstract theories, even if I don’t know how I will use them. I remember events more as an impression of what it was like than as actual facts or details of what happened.

The following statements generally apply to me:

    I remember events by what I read “between the lines” about their meaning.
    I solve problems by leaping between different ideas and possibilities.
    I am interested in doing things that are new and different.
    I like to see the big picture, then to find out the facts.
    I trust impressions, symbols, and metaphors more than what I actually experienced
    Sometimes I think so much about new possibilities that I never look at how to make them a reality.

– text via The Myers & Briggs Foundation


I do both of those, often simultaneously. So either one is correct and applies. And most people have a bit of everything within them, we’re all a mix of opposites and what lies in between those extremes, so your MBTI is more about what dominates, your default setting, or something like that. This kind of reasoning, especially the -or  something like that – bit is very INTP.



INTP by INFJdoodles


Anyway… Where was I? What is this post about?

I sometimes find my ability to wander everywhere and nowhere very annoying…

Oh, yes…

After I’d played with the MBTI blog typealyzer, I wondered what other fun blog analysers existed out there – there had to be others, this sort of thing always comes in multiples.

So I went on a search, which was momentarily interrupted by finding out that by typing – do a barrel roll – into the Google search bar your search results’ page spins, and found:

AgeAnalyzer – Determine the age of a blogger

This could be… a dangerously tactless experience which deals an almighty blow to vanity. But curiosity requires such risk taking futility and insanity.

My blog’s results:




I’m 45. So… I think I’m flattered by the results… not sure really, this could be viewed in both a positive and a negative way, and a million other ways.

Moving on…


GenderAnalyzer – Determine if a blog is written by a man or a woman

Fairly straightforward, and perhaps quite useful considering the possibilities which the internet offers for changing who we are. For the most part I think knowing someone’s gender is less relevant than knowing who they are inside all the external things, but sometimes… it depends.

My blog results:




I’m female. At least that’s what my body tells me I am (and it confirms it once a month – TMI). However I do not pay much attention to gender stereotypes, therefore they do not define who I am and how I express myself. I am not really sure when I became aware of my gender and what it meant according to everyone else… I kind of just do my own thing, whatever that is.

I have no idea what to make of this result. So I won’t make anything of it other than an amusing tidbit in a post.

Moving on…


I Write Like – which analyzes a segment of your writing and then gives you a famous writer who had… a similar style? You can find out more about what it does and how it does it on the website.

This was tricky for me because I do different things with different posts, and my writing – is just me talking (mostly to myself) in type. So… which post to use?

I went with the one before this one, which wasn’t as rambling as other recent ones, and here is the result:




No, I don’t… but thank you very much for inflating my ego!!!

I do sometimes think there are Lilliputians messing with me, and my memoirs could be called ‘Gullible’s Travels’… and sometimes I feel like a Lilliputian dealing with something large and prone to squashing me should it fall awkwardly.


It’s all a bit of fun… not to be taken seriously. Serious is good. But be careful how you dose it.