The Lexicon of Perception

I am neither a writer nor a photographer.

I haven’t yet figured out what I am,

I’ve been trying to figure this puzzle out for ages (as in almost before I was born),

and I still don’t have an answer to that question – Who are you?

I’m not sure that I really want to answer it as trying to figure it out is…

a certain kind of fun I enjoy as it takes me on many adventures.

So don’t expect me to fill in the blank anytime soon… I just am, for now, and probably for… ever.

However I always look forward to the writing and photography challenges on the Daily Post.

Because I write and I photograph.

And I love challenges (even when I wish I didn’t).

My language is one of words and images.

This week’s Daily Post photography challenge – Dialogue – is so wonderful I imploded and exploded at the same time.

Please check out the challenger’s own entry – Fakeormistake hosts the weekly photo challenge – it is… beyond words to describe, but not beyond images!

ps. It took me a while, I am not ashamed to admit, to figure out all the connections, the dialogues between the images, but that made the images all the more entrancing.

.

I tend to think in images more often than words, because – a picture does indeed seem to be worth a thousand words – and those mental pictures often capture words in a way which makes more sense than words themselves, interpretations vary and can cause confusion, whereas images, although prone to optical illusion, are easier to navigate than words.

.

Sometimes words are a part of a picture… are the picture.

That’s when the dialogue gets really and surreally interesting…

.

Here’s my take on this week’s challenge.

I know what I’m saying with these images,

I speak my lingo,

my photo-dialogue language,

and I understand where I’m going with the conversation of the dialogue between the pairings of photos…

But that’s just me…

What do you think and hear and see?

.

.

5LayersOfFun 5SecondsOfFun

.

.

“I am the washing machine of love. And if you have no idea what I mean, maybe it’s time to let some laundry into your life.”

― Jarod Kintz

.

.

FoodPalace FoodPalate.

.

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.” ― Virginia Woolf

.

.

MoonBauble MoonWalk

.

.

“There are nights when the wolves are silent and only the moon howls. ” ― George Carlin

.

.

SlipperySlope SlipperyTwistInTheRoad.

.

“If you don’t know where you’re going, any road’ll take you there” ― George Harrison

.

.

SnowStorm SnowStorming.

.

“The snow doesn’t give a soft white damn whom it touches.” ― E.E. Cummings

.

.

Spiderman SpidermanJump.

.

“…the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.” ― Jack Kerouac

.

.

This is just a bit of fun…

a bit of funfair…

Is it really fun?

Is it really fair?

.

.

CatchABall CatchAsCatCan

.

.

That depends on the lexicon of our perception…

and the lexicon of perception of others.

.

.

“Sometimes,” he says, sliding his arm across my shoulders, “people just want to be happy, even if it’s not real.” ― Veronica Roth

.

.

