Mooning at the Howl

OrangeMoon by MoonVooDoo.

.

“Follow your inner moonlight; don’t hide the madness.” — Allen Ginsberg

.

.

When I was a child I did what many children dream of doing, and may try doing but then get put in their place for doing it or attempting to do it, by an adult being an adult (who may well also dream of doing the very same thing but can’t, won’t or just doesn’t), putting children in their place for being children.

I ordered dessert as my first course in a restaurant.

.

I didn’t do this on a whim.

 No, no. I thought it through very thoroughly like a math problem. A logic problem of sorts…

The logic being that what I really wanted was dessert, and I ordered and ate other stuff just to get to the dessert, but by the time the dessert course came along I was too full to eat the dessert and usually ended up not having any… which made a mockery of the meal and of me.

Why was I ordering and eating things which I did not want or need?

Why not order and eat the thing which I did want and need?

It just seemed backwards… the menu was backwards… so why not flip it around?

.

To my utter surprise, the astonishment of a child who had enough experience over their very few years of what adults are like, the adults indulged my brazen request.

The waiter wondered if the adults had gone mad, perhaps it was a full Moon night and the full Moon was wearing a Groucho Marx moustache… he was so wracked by consternation that he requested the support of the Maitre’d who understood the vagaries of customers the way a parent understands the vagaries of children, and the way a child ends up learning about the vagaries of adults.

The adults had not gone mad… they were bored and this amused them. This child and its request of wanting to eat cake made them feel like Marie Antoinette in full period drama costume on Halloween night at a masquerade where anything goes because no one knows who you are behind the mask.

.

So I ate cake for starters, and… I have no idea if I ate anything else other than satisfaction pie (which was a welcome break from always partaking of le humble pie non a la mode.

.

I knew this was a one-off experience. I did not push my luck and try this little stunt again. The adults’ goodwill had been used up, possibly for decades to come, and they were very aware of it.

Although they would dine out on this story and anecdote for many years, always making it about how wild and crazy they were to indulge such a mad child’s whim.

It was an amusing interlude…

How we laughed, and cried because we laughed so much!

… a very fine example to them of just how mad I was and how sane they were… yet how insane they could be in a sane way when they wished to be, but such things were not to be indulged in for more than an amusing interlude lest howling at the Moon become Mooning at the howl.

.

.

“Our heads are round so thought can change direction” ― Allen Ginsberg

.

.