The Latitude of Attitude – What’s Your Angle?

NotAnAccordian

.

.

One of the things which I try to assess about a person when I’m interacting with them is where they are coming from.

[Such as are they the sort of person who will read the previous sentence and trip over my incorrect use of grammar. Will they be offended by my error so much so that they are unable to continue reading, feel superior to me because they saw a wrong. Will they attempt to show me the error of my ways and the correctness of their way. Or are they the sort of person who did not notice, and wouldn’t care if they did.]

What is their angle.

The place from where someone is coming can be – Where were they located physically before they relocated here with me. Their mood, behaviour, self-expression and needs will be influenced by the place before they were here. It will be affected by the journey they took from there to here. It will also be influenced by here and how they perceive where here is.

If they are meeting with me after a long and stressful day at work, and on the journey to get here they were crammed into a train and someone groped them or bashed them with a briefcase, however they consider this place to be a relaxing haven… then their mood may be cranky, their behaviour may be aggressive, their self-expression may be abrupt, and their needs will be pushing them to find a release valve for their experiences, but they will feel a sense of relief at finally having got here after being there and traveling from there to here.

They may need to rant to get things off their chest and out of their system. A laugh to create a boundary between work and play, to draw a blurred line and step over it. Silence to soothe. Sharing to remind them that they’re not the only one having a life which is sometimes overwhelming. Gossip to distract from themselves. To take off their clothes and put on a different attire. To change their angles into curves.

Their angle may have many angles to it.

The place from where someone is coming can be – Everything they’ve ever experienced in life which influences how they experience the now. Everyone whom they have ever met which will have a say in how they view other people now. Everyone they have ever been which will have bearing on who they are in the moment.

We are framed by many angles, past, present, and projections of the future.

The place from where someone is coming can be – What they are projecting onto me. Who am I to them and what they expect from me. Am I the supplier of something they need or am I the demander of something they supply. Both. Rarely neither. How well do they know me and how well do they think I know them. Is their angle of me sharp, acute, or something a bit trapezoid.

.
.
TheBlurredLine
.
.

The other thing which I try to assess in an interaction is my own status. To be aware of from where I am coming. My angle, and my angle of their angle.

[Such as that I am the sort of person who grew up with someone who felt compelled to grammatically correct me at every opportunity, since they were an opportunist they found plenty of opportunities to do so. This may be a helpful compulsion in certain situations – you kind of need this from a teacher when you are their pupil – but when all you’re doing is having a chat it is an annoying obstacle to communication.

This particular person was all angles and no curves – they did not do curves unless it was in the form of a curve ball which knocked you out of the game, they certainly did not make exceptions for learning curves, even when, like me at the time of most of our interactions, I was a child and they were an adult, and not my teacher of English or math.

Thus if you’re the sort of person who prides themselves of being a member of the grammar police, and you come at me with your red pen when all I’m doing is having a chat, and you expect me to be grateful for your unrequested services… perhaps you should have checked the angle from which I was coming before you came at me from your angle.]

Assessing the angle of others, from where they are coming, is an angle from which I am coming. I will adjust my angle according to the angle of others. The mathematical formula of this angle adjustment is complex and I often jumble the numbers which cause mixed results and odd looking structures. Sometimes the framing cuts off a corner of my subject of focus, and I end up focusing on what I cut off rather than what I managed to capture – as I did when I looked at the photos accompanying this post and that’s why I chose them.

[I ended up being the photographic grammar police, circling and underlining my errors with a big indelible red pen, and pointing out what I did wrong rather than what I did right.]

Our angle on and of others is often the result of the angle we have on and of ourselves – the angle we have of ourselves is sometimes the result of the angle which others have on and of us. So those angles are part of a circle, which may be part of a spiral. Our angles bump, the bump causes them to spin, twirl, and things spiral from there, sometimes the result is negative, sometimes positive, such is the delicate dance of mathematical formulas in human form.

.

.

 

NotAStar
.
.
“if man is 5 [3x]
then the devil is 6 [5x]
then god is 7 [3x]
this monkey’s gone to heaven.”
– Monkey Gone to Heaven lyrics [repeatedx], Pixies.
.
.
*inspired by The Daily Post’s Photo Challenge: Angular