Sorry, I mistook you for a Wormhole

WormholeJumper

.

.

If a wormhole opened up before you offering you a trip to a possible alternate universe, would you step through it?

What if that wormhole offered you the ability to travel back in time in this universe, would you take the leap?

If you hesitated so long that the wormhole collapsed in on itself, and you sighed with relief that you hadn’t been crazy enough to go through it… we’re not related, so that’s another sigh of relief which you can add to the previous one.

My family, on both sides of the parental universe collision, are wormhole travelers.

At least as far as I’ve bothered to chart this family trait or addiction. Actually I didn’t chart anything, someone else, someone whom I do not know but who is apparently distantly related, did this for themselves, which turned out to be for me too. On one side anyway. The other side is too busy jumping through wormholes to chart that sort of thing.

My ancestors have jumped through so many wormholes, I’m surprised I’m even here…

… maybe I’m not. Maybe I just think I am but… Philip K. Dick… I blame you for this. I know what you would say to that:

“It is sometimes an appropriate response to reality to go insane.” ― Philip K. Dick.

And I would reply to that by shrugging, as that too is an ancestral trait. The shrugging as a reply not the insanity… although, now that I think about it… Hmmmm.

When you travel through wormholes you’re more likely to pass through them if you do a lot of shrugging. The friction helps to do science stuff which is needed for more science stuff.

Why am I talking about things of which I know nothing? Or more to the point why am I spouting such nonsense which is planting seeds which may sprout even more nonsense? Because that too forms the roots of my plant.

I come from a long line of sowers of nonsense seeds. This has been going on since time im memoriam and before that (and beyond – said in a sci-fi voice), so it obviously works if what you want to do is create people who create more people until we’re living in an overcrowded world… and the solution to this overpopulation may be jumping through a wormhole.

.

.

“If you think this Universe is bad, you should see some of the others.” ― Philip K. Dick

.

.

One of the inspirations for this post and train of abstract thought is an article in Wired magazine which started out by discussing a recent film and ended up wondering if wormhole travel was possible.

Theoretically it is a hypothetical probable probability, however it would require a lot of dark matter and taming of things known as blackholes. Or something like that. I have to confess my listening often acts like a blackhole and I have no idea where the stuff I hear ends up. Perhaps in the past somewhere and right now one of my ancestors is having a brilliant idea which will get them locked up in a ye olde looney bin.

.

.

Intrudersanother inspiration is this – Intruders –  in its TV series format.

.

.

My ancestors were…

Vikings, Romans, Greeks, Arabs, Jews, Crusaders, mercenaries, military, actors, brigands, criminals, villains, religious extremists, builders, farmers, doctors, lawyers, rich, poor, terrorists and terrified, oppressors and oppressed, immigrants, aliens (and probably alien aliens), members of secret societies, insiders and outsiders, monkeys and mud, and a whole lot of other things which make my genes a pair of patchwork jeans. You name it, it’s an atom in me. Those people known as ‘them’ are a part of this person known as ‘me’.

…adventurers of life.

My extended family jumped through wormholes mostly because they didn’t read the science stuff and not because they did. They didn’t understand it and didn’t want to understand it because they were wily enough to know that understanding it might make them too intelligent to take the necessary leap. Had they read the instructions before use… I’d be related to those relief collectors whom I mentioned earlier.

I probably am related to them, somewhere through one wormhole or another.

I have no idea what happened to most of my ancestors who took the leap. Communication these days is bigger, better, faster, than it used to be… however my family tends to be of a mumbling and rambling monologuing sort. That can benefit from an audience, but really isn’t a requisite. In fact we often marvel that anyone listens. Are you still here…!?!

We do listen to ourselves, sometimes, and ourselves is often saying – Jump, go for it, who cares if you survive, do it for the experience!

That and…

This post is really hard to write because my roots are full of swear words and I’m trying not to show my roots, not because I’m ashamed of them, but because I’m not sure what your roots will make of them. We eat swear words for breakfast, before breakfast upon waking we exhale expletives about the fact that we’re still here and that’s confusing because we’re sure we were somewhere else. And other anomalies caused by wormhole jumping genes.

.

.

“My schedule for today lists a six-hour self-accusatory depression.” ― Philip K. Dick.

.

.

If we all looked hard enough, could be bothered and had the inclination and resources to do so, we’d probably find that we’re all related. Scary thought or a relief point to be collected?

Life on Earth is rather incestuous… uh oh… Hmmmm.

We’re all connected one way or another. Every person whom you meet offers you a wormhole into an alternate reality…

.

.

“When you meet someone you love, then you change for good. That’s why the other person will never know or understand the earlier you, and why you can never change back. And why, when that person starts to go, you’ll feel the tear deep in your heart long before your head has the slightest clue what’s going on.” ― Michael Marshall Smith

.

.

…whether that wormhole goes somewhere where you might possibly meet an alternate version of yourself, or whether it collapses in on itself and on you before you pass through it, depends very much on the quality and quantity of dark matter which you or the other person has to feed such an experience. Either way, it’s always an adventure in life!

.

.

“Deep inside each of us is a part that mistrusts order and craves the relief of seeing the world shatter into the chaos it believes lies underneath all along. Or perhaps that’s just me.” ― Michael Marshall Smith

.

.

Qui Reverti