The Rebel’s Role Model

Can you recall who your role models were when you were a child?

The other day I idly asked myself this question, and before I could form an answer in a logical, methodical and wordy manner, my mind was flooded with a succession of images of all the characters, fictional or real, who inspired me along my evolving path from child to adult.

.

AFewRoleModelsA collage of a few which flashed before me… can you identify them?

(sorry, no prizes for being able to do that)

.
I didn’t pay any mind to gender as I didn’t pay attention to my gender at that time (and still don’t, except when it demands my attention or someone else reminds me of it). Gender was irrelevant, what mattered was inspiration and the journeys it offered through the ways that it offered it.

Some of these characters gave me something which I didn’t have, which I longed for and recognised when I saw it.

Some awakened in me what was in my nature and needed some gentle nurture to make the seed grow and bloom.

Some nourished my dreams, encouraged my imagination, and invited me on great adventures of the creative mind.

Some were there for me when I needed a friend.

Some challenged me.

And some were me, or at least they represented an aspect of myself which I could see in them, although in them the aspect was older, more mature, honed by running the gauntlet of life, or exaggerated in a way that was more easily understandable than the more subtle side could teach, so they were a me I hoped to become in time, with practice, experience or something along those lines.

.

meditator's brain by Sit IllustratedSit Illustrated

.

Many of these characters emerged out of the books, comics and fables which I read, filling the room around me with their voices and the warmth of their being. They also appeared on TV, film, and invited me into their worlds.

Their realms often were accessed through the drawings I created while sprawled on the floor in front of the screen, after reading a book, and occasionally they jumped out of the television or book and we went off on an escapade through the house and out into the wild.

.

“The good news is that she is one of the nicest people in the universe. The bad news is, that’s because she always does exactly what she pleases. An Aquarius female is rebellious, headstrong, and contrary. She can be selfishly independent and exasperating, especially when she is running through the house screaming, “freedom!” ― Hazel Dixon-Cooper

.

I’m not an Aquarius (although the sign is quite strong in my natal chart), but you don’t have to be something to live it, especially in your imagination, especially when you’re a child.

I didn’t run through the house screaming freedom, although that rebel yell was loud in my mind (and still is), I did however pace the floor like a dusty road in a frontier town at high noon, muttering ‘ching-ching-ching’ to mimic the sound of spurs, or rush from cover to cover in a dystopian present-future world like a sci-fi spy with my invisible gun at the ready.

Sometimes there was an outside adjacent to the inside and available for free roaming gameplay, and off I rushed into the wilderness. A pirate, a swash-buckler, a secret agent, a cowboy, an indian, a hero or villain, a mythical being… pretending the time away, until one day pretend would give way to what was real.

.

madman author humor

.

I knew it was pretend, and I knew there was a real which did not always include what was pretend.

I dreamed of becoming a helicopter pilot flying rescue missions – that was pretend. The reality was that this was something I would never do (certainly not with my dyslexia), but the fantasy could inspire the reality in some way.

Not sure how this one has played out, perhaps it’s too subtle to see or not there at all. Some things do get left behind once we move on in our evolution through the being human experience.

.

“Lots of people like rainbows. Children make wishes on them, artists paint them, dreamers chase them, but the Aquarian is ahead of everybody. He lives on one. What’s more, he’s taken it apart and examined it, piece by piece, color by color, and he still believes in it. It isn’t easy to believe in something after you know what it’s really like, but the Aquarian is essentially a realist, even though his address is tomorrow, with a wild-blue-yonder zip code.” ― Linda Goodman

.

Again, not an Aquarian (unless you count a dominant Mercury… in Aquarius, aspected by Uranus (Aquarius’ planet) conjunct Jupiter which amplifies everything), but still, it’s there in me, in all of us…

.

aquarius woman

.

…what we do with it… with our part in this world, a world of which we don’t always feel a part… and yet that too is a part of it… is up to us even when it isn’t or doesn’t seem to be.

.

“Signs and wonders, eh? Pity if there is nothing wonderful in signs, and significant in wonders! There’s a clue somewhere; wait a bit; hist–hark! By Jove, I have it! Look, you Doubloon, your zodiac here is the life of man in one round chapter; and now I’ll read it off, straight out of the book. Come, Almanack!

To begin: there’s Aries, or the Ram–lecherous dog, he begets us; then, Taurus, or the Bull–he bumps us the first thing; then Gemini, or the Twins–that is, Virtue and Vice; we try to reach Virtue, when lo! comes Cancer the Crab, and drags us back; and here, going from Virtue, Leo, a roaring Lion, lies in the path–he gives a few fierce bites and surly dabs with his paw; we escape, and hail Virgo, the Virgin! that’s our first love; we marry and think to be happy for aye, when pop comes Libra, or Scales–happiness weighed and found wanting; and while we are very sad about that, Lord! how we suddenly jump, as Scorpio, or the Scorpion, stings us in rear; we are curing the wound, when whang comes the arrows all round; Sagittarius, or the Archer, is amusing himself. As we pluck out the shafts, stand aside! here’s the battering-ram, Capricornus, or the Goat; full tilt, he comes rushing and headlong we are tossed; when Aquarius, or the the Waterbearer, pours out his whole deluge and drowns us; and, to wind up, with Pisces, or the Fishes, we sleep.

There’s a sermon now, writ in high heaven, and the sun goes through it every year, and yet comes out of it all alive and hearty.” ― Herman Melville

.

Whether we are young, old, in between young and old, in a realist’s neverland, or whatever, wherever, else we can be, there is always an adventure which awaits, within and outside of us, something new to learn, to inspire the inner child and the outer adult, or the inner adult and the outer child. What we do with it is up to us.

Role models are not just for our young and growing selves, and are not just there to be our heroes. Villains can be role models in a different way, who can open up a door to something else… what we do with that open door is up to us.

.

What happens when… Elders Play Grand Theft Auto V (Elders React: Gaming) – very funny and insightful.

.

“And all was right in the world.”

.

.

*post inspired by my results (Rebel) after taking – The Four Tendencies – test by Gretchen Rubin

