Splashed by Murky Waters



“Life starts out with everyone clapping when you take a poo and goes downhill from there. ”
― Sloane Crosley, I Was Told There’d Be Cake


Have you ever had one of those days when you wondered if you were a part of some cosmic joke, but you’re not sure which side of the joke you’re on?

Should you laugh at it, with it, or are you what is being laughed at – and should you laugh anyway even if you’re the source of amusement, the butt of the joke?

Something funny is going on, but you’re uncertain if it is funny-haha or funny-strange, maybe both.

When contemplating forces of nature… we tend to wander off into the poetry of such a concept. An ocean wave, a thunderstorm, a whirlwind, an active volcano, something magnificent, which terrifies and uplifts.

We rarely tend to think about things like… poo.

Poo is a force of nature… and at times it makes its natural force felt with urgency.

Don’t worry I’m not diving into those murky waters, just splashing around in them a bit as I literally did today. I had to unblock a blockage in the drains leading to the septic tank of my house (I live a very glamorous life).

The cause of the blockage was a bundle of roots which looked like a hair extension for a shaggy ponytail… or a stretched out hedgehog. Before I found the culprit of the blockage, which in and of itself was also nature being forceful and interfering with human shit, I had to deal with the kind of murky waters which should have made me go all ewwwwww… but actually made me smile with a certain twisted delight.

You’d have to be me to really get why I enjoyed doing something which could be considered disgusting.

However I can impart some of the fun, without you needing to get all splashed by murky water like I was during my activity.

An author whom I consider to be a force of nature has generously shared their soon to be published book with me. It is a stunning creation, and so I’m reading it really slowly, savouring each morsel, taking my time to appreciate what took them time to make.

Last night I read a chapter which discussed the importance of poo in our lives. Of accepting this force of nature within us, and all that it entails. Of how much such an intrinsic aspect of life can affect other aspects of our life. The perspective offered was brilliant and…

… had me reminiscing about certain poo-related events in my early life. One or two of which would probably make you gasp with yuk if I shared them. They were nature being natural, but… humans often shy away from that kind of nature being natural. From certain forces of nature which are perhaps also terrifying yet not necessarily uplifting.

So, what happened today, including other things which I haven’t mentioned because they’d make this post too long and it already is that kind of shit… just seemed serendipitous in a cosmic joke kind of manner.


“If we are willing, however, to put down our allegiances in order to embrace the complexities with which we are faced, we shall all have a better appreciation of what is going on and a greater degree of comfort with what is so often strange or unintelligible”

― Andy White, Going Mad to Stay Sane