I’m Sick of All My Kicks

Three people walk into a bar…

One of them gets concussion, and floats off into a blissful wonderland, where everything is peaceful, happy, and made of their favourites foods, which they can eat and eat and eat, drink, dance without rhythm, sing out of tune, say and do whatever they want, and never suffer any adverse effects.

.

Oh, Lovestruck, I’ve fallen for a lamppost,
Giving her my utmost, spilling out my deepest feelings.

.

.

One of them apologises to the bar for bumping into it, they weren’t looking where they were going, promises never to do it again, as they have learned from this lesson, then asks the bar if it is alright. The bar is so overcome by such consideration that it opens up to this clumsy but kind stranger about all of its woes, its hopes and dreams, and fills the next few hours (days, weeks, months) with stories of its life from the moment of its conception until now (but now keeps moving forward and so the story never ends).

.

We used to talk so deep into the night
You had the heart of a wild horse running
You bared your soul to me
And we both knew these days were coming

.

.

One of them curses, then laughs. Laughs at cursing and curses at laughing. It’s all the same, and yet everything changes. They wander off waxing philosophical, boring themselves, certain that after walking into a bar, they’re bound to fall into a hole too.

.

I’m sick
I’m sick of all my kicks
I’m sick of all the stiffs
I’m sick of all the dips

.

.

Life is all about filling in the blanks, how we do it tells us our story, and has a playlist to go along with it, which sings our tale to us…

.

Are we liars in denial?
Are we smoke without the fire?
Tell me please is this worth it?

.

.

Whether we hear the stories we tell, the soundtrack which plays… filling in the blanks, the void, which frightens us… what would happen if there was silence?

No story…

No music…

Nothing…

Just us… as is.

.

.

A sound… with and without a sound.

.

sound-waveimage via Chameleon’s Sound Challenge

