Dirt on the Lens

dirt on the lens


“Our posturings, our imagined self-importance, the delusion that we have some privileged position in the Universe, are challenged by this point of pale light. Our planet is a lonely speck in the great enveloping cosmic dark. In our obscurity, in all this vastness, there is no hint that help will come from elsewhere to save us from ourselves.”

― Carl Sagan


It’s been a beautiful day where I live,

the sort of day which beckons you to enjoy it,

to cast off darkness and revel in the light,

to step out of shadow into sunshine,

to drop your burdens and be free if just for a moment,

and it may make you feel that you’re missing out on something if you don’t seize the day while it lasts… it may not be here later.

I always panic a little bit when the weather is this sunny and warm,

it’s a living in the UK thing,

I feel I should drop everything else and rush out to get a sunburn,

soak a Summer’s worth of sunny up in one day just in case…

stop doing stuff and do sweet nothing.

But today has been different…

I feel different…

perhaps because I’m thinking differently.

Maybe that thinking differently comes from Mercury retrograding its way across the Sun in the earthy sign of Taurus… embrace the physical reality, let your logical mind untie the knots of the ego…

It’s a mini eclipse without the eclipse bit.

And I’ve been having a mini epiphany without the big epiphany bit… about small and ordinary things… like me.

The differences are tiny shifts… like specks of dirt upon a camera lens being gently wiped away so as not to damage the lens…

but I kind of like the tiny specks of dirt in the pic above, maybe because for a moment, before I realised what they were I saw stars and planets… at one point I thought I’d miraculously captured Mercury.

It’s a funny old thing… being human.

From this human to all the others in the world… have a beautiful day, wherever you are, whenever you can, when it calls to you and invites you to just be as you are… for a moment, however long it lasts.