Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in…

Why did I do that!?!

Why did I look up in that moment, at that place, there was no reason to do so…


“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson


… in fact there was every reason not to do so and to keep looking down because I was using a piece of machinery which could chop my toes off, maybe even chop my feet off, therefore I should have kept my gaze firmly on the ground


instead I looked up

and now I can’t unsee what I’ve seen

which is this…


Wasp nest in eaves


While I was looking up a couple of wasp guy-gals were looking down…

and probably having a bit of a chuckle at my expense because (wasps like a good laugh) while trying to sort out the shed in the garden I noticed a bunch of wasps busily scraping wood off of the doors…

They were loud! Who knew such tiny beings could be so loud!?

… and I was rather chuffed with myself for not melting into a screaming and running away from wasps mess. Ho hum, it’s just wasps doing wasp stuff, if I ignore them, they’ll ignore me.

Be at peace with nature and nature will be at peace with you… be eco-friendly… or something like that

(although at the moment I’m not feeling particularly friendly towards nature,

nothing to do with the wasps building their nest in the eaves of my house,

but more to do with the ants which I thought were harmless,

was rather relieved that they weren’t the red ants who ruled my garden at the old place because those guys had a mean sting,

then later found out this particular type of black ant,

known as the Carpenter ant which is really more of a de-carpentry ant,

was far more of a problem than red ants ever were because the red ants weren’t interested in my home but these black ants are, they deconstruct the wood parts of your house a bit like termites… and now they’re my latest owning your own home nightmare).

I did wonder where the wasps were building their nest since I knew that the activity in which they were engaging was for the purpose of getting materials for creating their home…

I had hoped they were doing it somewhere… other than where I now know they’re doing it, because now I have to kill them

(for all of you out there shouting “NOOOOOOooooooo! Don’t kill the nature beasts!” and coming up with very sound reasons why I should just let them be… I did that with the ants when I first noticed them and now I have two window frames and a porch which have been nommed and need fixing so… as much as I would like to be all buddhist about this… I think I’ll stick with being very human about it).

Sometimes the nature you have to make peace with is human nature… and that’s not a peaceful kind of nature which will leave you in peace if you ignore it.


“The feelings that hurt most, the emotions that sting most, are those that are absurd – The longing for impossible things, precisely because they are impossible; nostalgia for what never was; the desire for what could have been; regret over not being someone else; dissatisfaction with the world’s existence. All these half-tones of the soul’s consciousness create in us a painful landscape, an eternal sunset of what we are.”
― Fernando Pessoa


Had I not looked up

in that moment

at that place…

we would not be having this conversation

(which we’re not really having… I’m just babb;ing blog style a la human).