Paint it White

paint it white


“I’ve been making a list of the things they don’t teach you at school. They don’t teach you how to love somebody. They don’t teach you how to be famous. They don’t teach you how to be rich or how to be poor. They don’t teach you how to walk away from someone you don’t love any longer. They don’t teach you how to know what’s going on in someone else’s mind. They don’t teach you what to say to someone who’s dying. They don’t teach you anything worth knowing.”
― Neil Gaiman


I hate lists.

Some people list ‘hate’ as a word not to use because it’s strong and might punch a hole in the side of your house out of which fine grains of sand will flow…

and keep flowing until…

there’s a big pile of sand next to where your house once was.

That image comes courtesy of an ‘expert’ who I called in to assess the status of the walls of my house (which happen to be made of clay that under certain circumstances, mostly adverse ones, turns into a sand-like substance).

Finding that kind of an ‘expert’ was on my To-Do list…

I kind of wish I’d lost that list like I lost the one I needed when I went to the local DIY store. I’m fairly certain I put it in my pocket but when I went to retrieve it… it was gone and I had to rely on my mind to remember what I’d written upon it (which is hard to do while everything in the store is attempting to distract you from your purpose there – there are an awful lot of things which scream ‘buy me even if you don’t need me’, and the things which you actually need suddenly go silent in comparison with the things you don’t need.

It’s a bit like trying to find a cat who doesn’t want to be found.

They say that this particular modern age is making us more forgetful… and perhaps more stupid (while being prone to thinking we’re smarter than we’ve ever been – maybe thinking we’re super smart goes with our increased stupidity…?)… because we rely on things outside of ourselves to do the thinking for us, to hold our thoughts and to keep our memories.

Why bother using grey cells and taking up brain space when you can Wiki-it from wherever you are… and other tech-stuff like that. Just write it all down in your note-keeping app and wipe it from your organic inner computer (you need that for other things like worrying about why someone hasn’t texted you back yet). There’s an App for everything and it’s making us rely on something other than ourselves… the only thing we need ourselves for is to charge up the batteries of other things.

Genius created tech and that tech is now dumbing us all down – or so some ‘experts’ say…

but if those experts are anything like the one who ‘expertly’ assessed the walls of my house (and almost knocked down the canopy porch over the front door shortly after punching a hole in the render of the outer walls)… we’re all seconds away from being buried under the structure of our sandcastles falling down.

But enough of that…

time to keep on carrying on…

I must get back to:



plumbing problems

and pretending that what I’m doing isn’t pointless…


“I suppose I’ll have to add the force of gravity to my list of enemies.”
― Lemony Snicket


Did you notice the white paint ghoul in the photo… or am I just seeing things in things?

Speaking of seeing things…

here’s a list I saw recently (I love #4 – and hate #18):

The Dalai Lama List