Ambulance Chasers

As I write these words the ambulance has finally arrived.

The ‘ambulance chasers’ in this story are the police and the firemen, both of whom called for an ambulance… and then had to wait for about an hour for it to arrive.

It thus took well over those 37 minutes which the policeman said he had been told it would take when he asked me to relay that information to the EMT taking care of those who genuinely needed care being taken of them. The EMT guy said he wasn’t surprised that the ambulance would be taking its time to get there… he said it in one of those ‘voices’, you know, the kind which knows that the ‘predictable’ is going to happen. He’s been in this kind of situation before, many times, part of him has kind of given up on things working the way they’re supposed to… but he works in a field of service which can’t give up on things working out.

In the dark of a Winter night, the drizzling rain, the cold (although milder than it had been in days), the EMT looked after his patients – 3 people had gone off the road on a blind corner near my house (that’s why I was there, getting involved, trying to be helpful yet not get in the way).

.

waiting-for-an-ambulance

While I did take some clearer photos and felt slightly awkward for taking them at all, this one was the one which expressed something more about this moment… perhaps because of the blur and the eerie scribbles the lights made

.

3 out of 3 walked away from their cars intact but 1 of the 3 had a visible head injury and her condition was the EMT’s main concern. Another 1 of the 3 was experience dizziness, was disoriented, but overall seemed fine (he spent some time in my house, made a call to his loved one due to his cell phone running out of charge, and kept wanting to give me something for the trouble he was causing… I tried to explain that it was no trouble but… it’s funny how we’re always worried about bothering others when we should be focusing on what’s bothering us), his condition was also in need of attention. The final 1 of the 3 was fine physically, his car was fine too, but the effect which his part in this accident had had on him shook him to the core – his part in this accident was complicated.

The whole damn accident was complicated.

Trying to figure out what actually happened has proved to be complicated because none of the stories seem to merge into a cohesive unit.

When I first became aware of it (due to an irregular sound which I originally thought was just a car pulling into the lay-by opposite my house rather suddenly, but… other factors changed my mind about that conclusion) I thought only one car was involved.

Before I got to the scene, several other cars had stopped and other people had checked things out and then left. When I checked there only seemed to be one car involved. I checked on the driver and he seemed fine, he also seemed to want everyone to go away and leave him alone to sort things out. I left him alone after I decided that he was okay… but I still called the emergency services (which he’d said he didn’t need called). According to the emergency services this was not an emergency services matter, at least not based on what I explained what I knew of it. I did not notice the other two cars and people… were they there or did they come later? Did one accident cause another to happen – the other two were definitely connected to each other, but whether they were connected to the third, and perhaps ‘first one’ (the one of which I was aware), is unclear.

I’m glad I’m not responsible for investigating this because it’s a puzzling puzzle and those involved directly in it are hurt and confused.

I spoke to each of the 3…

didn’t speak much to the woman because she was being fiercely guarded by a good samaritan lady who had stopped her car and had called the police – this time stressing that emergency services were necessary. When the EMT asked if she was a friend of the injured woman this lady said “I’m a friend in need” (or something very close to that). She stayed until the end of the story – I wonder if she went to the hospital afterwards.

The two men involved had been returning home after a long day, and both made a point of saying that they were driving carefully because of the weather and the conditions it was causing as they both knew this road well, knew this blind corner was problematic – they knew the problems, they were careful because they were conscious of those problems and the consequences of not being careful and conscious of those problems, and yet…

makes you think.

Makes you realise that sometimes you’re going to become a part of something no matter how careful you are in trying to avoid being a part of that kind of something. That you can’t always avoid problems just because you know they are there and are conscious of ways to avoid them.

As I end this post the flashing lights are still flashing. The police have gone, the firemen have gone (after making the road safe for other drivers… those other drivers who will pass by not knowing that anything has happened here), the 3 are gone, so are their cars (at least I’m certain 2 of the cars involved are gone – the third went deep into the ‘bush’ beside the road, all that’s left is… an ambulance, sitting, waiting… not sure why it’s still there, lights flashing, waiting…

What a strange evening…

As huge as this seemed to me, and to those involved, compared to the world and what happens every second, minute, in it, this was tiny

What a strange week, month, year…

Maybe it’s always strange… we just make the strange seem normal, but sometimes it won’t let us do that.

What struck me the most about this… is something for another post, and another day… this is not the time and place for it.

I hope everyone involved in the accident recovers, and I hope those involved in helping those involved in this accident and others know how important their work and care is to those who don’t always appreciate their field of work until they need the emergency services.

What a strange experience – life.

.

“Let your life lightly dance on the edges of
Time like dew on the tip of a leaf.”
― Rabindranath Tagore

.