Evasive Manoeuvres…

Have you ever wanted to use a word, but…

even if your life depended upon it you can’t remember how to spell it,

or you can recall how to spell it but it just looks wrong spelled the right way…

it looks wrong no matter how you try and spell it, and soon enough your mind is unsure if the word even exists or if you made it up,

and things spiral from there…

.

wordnesia

excerpt from Slate – Wordnesia: When you forget how to spell the very simplest of werds by Matthew J.X. Malady

it’s a very entertaining and informative read.

.

which can happen often with English as there are two versions of English to contend with…

which totally effed me up in high school when I moved from a British school to an international one.

My new English teacher was American, and while she was a good teacher she proved to be the source of much confusion for me because I confused her by spelling some words the British way (the way I’d been taught to spell words before her) and other words the American way (the way I was taught to spell them by her). Add to that the fact that some of the text and books we studied were in British and some in American. So my young sponge of a brain was absorbing both at the same time. She eventually couldn’t stand it anymore and demanded that I pick either the British or American spelling for all my words and stick with my choice, if I continued to do both she would make the choice for me and it would seriously affect my grades.

Thanks to the not so good grades I got that year from that teacher I was demoted the following year to a less advanced English class – there were several levels of English classes within each grade due to most pupils being from different countries – and the teacher of that less advanced class was British and she had no problem with my mixed spellings as long as it was correct one way or another as her focus was on what her pupils did with those words expressively.

Both teachers taught me a lesson about people,

and showed me that there are at least two types of teachers, and while both types may be good at teaching, one style may not suit your style of learning.

.

problems-with-words

this excerpt is from Beating Dyslexia – Forgetting Simple Words Why are Easy Words Difficult to Remember?

and while it may be excellent for others who have dyslexia, it doesn’t suit this dyslexic person at all (dyslexia is not a one size fits all diagnosis – there are many different types within the label), in fact I wish I hadn’t read this as it’s just added a layer of complication to words with which I didn’t have a problem (and thank you for pointing out the obvious and giving us permission not to do this with every word).

Dyslexia is a differently wired brain not a disease to be cured.

If you or someone you know has dyslexia try reading – The Gift of Dyslexia (I’ve linked to the Amazon entry for this as the goodreads entry annoyed me due to the first comment under it being from someone who used the word ‘pseudo-science’ as a criticism and then launched into a personal attack on the author… I should have linked to the goodreads as now you’re going to want to read that comment) – it helped me view my differently wired brain as a different kind of ‘normal’ and showed me that while the other kind of ‘normal’ brains see dyslexia as something to be beaten out of us, it actually has certain ‘superpowers‘.

Beating Dyslexia has a post about the book – The Gift of Dyslexia, Fact or Fairy Tale? – in which they warn people not to view dyslexia as a ‘gift’ or think you’re ‘gifted’ because you have dyslexia – those with dyslexia don’t think that way, but thank you for yet again pointing out the obvious and giving us permission to think differently.

My apologies to Beating Dyslexia for my attitude.

.

If you also happen to know the language of origin of some words which have been absorbed into English, things can get even more problematic.

I had this problem when I decided to use the word  – manoeuvres – in my title.

I had all sorts of problems with it… yet I was determined to use it (because I seem to have a perverse need to make life more difficult than it needs to be for myself… even though just last night I was grumbling about those guides which tell you all the alternative words you should use instead of ‘very’ when writing because the use of  ‘very’ is apparently a sign of a lazy and possibly shit writer. But it says what you mean, so isn’t that the word you should use? It’s simple and… isn’t keeping it simple a good thing?)

WordPress’ spellcheck put a bunch of red dots under it, so I knew something was wrong with it… but what?

1 – Was it the usual fast typing issue whereby when I mean to type ‘from’ I end up with ‘form’ (but that wouldn’t get flagged by spellcheck), or when I type ‘typign’ <— that’s what happens.

2 – or was it just that WordPress’ spellcheck is my American English teacher and I’m using the Brit spelling for a word and American spellcheck doesn’t… computer says NO!

3 – or did I get it all wrong so how do I find out what is right? I know I’ll Google or Bing (pretty pictures on the homepage which will distract you from… who needs results when you have this view!) or whatever it… and end up with… exactly what I was using.

Man Oeuvre – Man work – the works of man… how man works to… evade stuff.

This wasn’t what this post was going to be about. What was it going to be about? Your guess is probably better than mine!

.

.

I like covers of songs, some of  them sometimes have more soul than the original… and this just expresses so much about life.

