A Year Ago Today: Inspiring Meetings

Mainbocher Corset, 1939 by Horst P Horst

Mainbocher Corset, 1939 by Horst P Horst

A year ago today I posted this photograph on my tumblr. I used to post on my tumblr everyday in those days, the way I posted was almost feverish in intensity. I was speaking to myself through images and quotes, as well as my own writing. These days I am not neglecting my tumblr, but I sort of am… internet connection issues, and outernet life changes and challenges combined. Things have a way of evolving whether we want them to or not.

I had the unexpected honour of meeting Horst P. Horst and watching him work. He was a very gracious man and an extremely talented photographer and artist.

This photograph is iconic. It has inspired many other artists and you will probably recognise it immediately.

I also posted this quote on that day:

“And all the voices, all the goals, all the yearnings, all the sorrows, all the pleasures, all the good and evil, all of them together was the world. All of them together was the stream of events, the music of life.” – Hermann Hesse, Siddhartha

I adore the writing of Hermann Hesse. He too was a very talented artist of words and thought.

What inspires us is everywhere, in the good and the bad, in between and beyond. Let inspiration flow into you, change you, move through you and then let it ripple out to others. Ideas do not have owners…