How to Spot a Narcissist using Astrology

It can’t be done. You can’t use astrology to predict if someone is a Narcissist or will become one. Astrology however can help you to understand certain aspects of things such as Narcissism. Just like any other tool which helps us to understand ourselves can also help us to understand others.

Things like astrology do not tell us who we are, that is our job. But they can help us to figure ourselves out as they give us a starting point, questions to ask ourselves, interpretations which we can use to decide if something fits us or not. Being able to say ‘That’s me’ or ‘That’s not me’ or ‘Hmmm, I wonder if I do that?’ are all ways in which we discover our true selves. It’s a journey of exploration. Occasionally we get answers to questions from these explorations, and sometimes we just get more questions.

I read a very interesting article – Astrology and Narcissism by Satori on Elsa Elsa . It points out that Narcissism can’t be seen in a chart, however a person’s attitude to their astrological chart can hint towards possible Narcissism:

“Consider the person as a metaphorical car. The true self is the driver. The false self is the back seat driver. The true self embodies all the energies of the natal chart, the driver. Consider the back seat driver to have a made up chart, one that has been picked out of the air, not a real set of energies that can be accessed. The driver takes the car out based on the very real energies in their natal chart and transits that chart experiences, but it is the back seat driver that gets out of the car at the destination and interacts.” Β© Satori

If you know someone who is into astrology, but who only focuses on certain parts of their chart while ignoring others, perhaps even to the point of denial of those other parts, who perhaps does not like their Sun sign and chooses to be a different one based on liking that sign better… since not liking the real self and creating a false self to be is a Narcissistic trait, then this may disclose that someone is a Narcissist.

If a person does not like astrology, then this criteria is not applicable.

Now I don’t particularly like my Sun sign – Capricorn – but this is mainly because most common descriptions of Capricorn are quite harsh. Some astrologers demonise Capricorns, as it is associated with the devil, and its ruling planet is Saturn, that god who devoured his own children. This negative view of Capricorn annoyed me for a long time. I have been interested in astrology since I was in my early teens. In fact it was introduced to me by a boyfriend who very kindly pointed out that he was better than me because he was an Aquarius and I was a bit crap because I was a Capricorn. He was joking, but it challenged me to find out everything I could about astrology to prove him wrong. A very Capricorn thing to do. He wasn’t wrong, Aquarians are indeed quite awesome, but Capricorns have their own kind of awesome too.

Since my parents both have NPD, and liked to point out how awful I was when I didn’t fulfill their Narcissistic needs, being told by astrologers that my Sun sign was awful, didn’t really help me to form a healthy view of myself. Also, when my mother discovered my enjoyment of astrology, she did the typical Narcissistic move of taking it over, pretending she was an expert and pointing out to me how wonderful she was because she was a Leo, and how awful I was because I was a Capricorn just like her father whom she hated.

But I did not reject my Sun sign and choose another one which I would rather be, just like I didn’t reject who I was and choose a new identity for myself. It just took me a while to actually like my Sun sign and myself, and that process took me through the dark side of my sign and myself before I could embrace the light side of both. It required using my own self knowledge, something learned by experiencing life and myself, to see both in a clear and balanced way.

I also had my natal chart wrong for a long period because I had the time wrong. This can also confuse matters. A person who does not know their actual time will struggle with getting their chart right. Just as a person who is constantly told by others who they are, may struggle with finding their true self. Deep down inside, we know who we are, figuring that out is part of our journey through life. It can be fun, and it can be troublesome. It is also always evolving and changing. New experiences gives us new views of who we are.

If you don’t like astrology. No worries. If you do like astrology… there is a lot to be gathered from exploring all the bits and pieces of your chart. If something sounds bad, if an aspect seems negative… there is a positive side to every negative. The dark side often has treasures beyond compare. And, as Jung so accurately pointed out – Knowing your own darkness is the best method for dealing with the darknesses of other people.

 

7 comments

  1. Astrology is entertaining and i do agree with many of the aspects…i see it as a “personality type” determinant, similar to those established by psychologists. it is a great way to explore the dark side of your self and if things align you could improve on such aspects, so yea..i do think it is a good way of self discovery, as long as you don’t let your life get consumed by it. I am a Capricorn and proud to be one infact πŸ™‚
    Great post πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hi there Capricorn (secret Sun sign Capricorn online handshake and wink),

      Out of all the signs of the Zodiac, Capricorns are expected (usually by other signs) to be the most skeptical about subjects like astrology. We are… but we also aren’t, depends on our own experience and whether we find it personally useful to explore the subject in question. I agree that some of it is very much cookie-cutter personality types tied up with a generalised ribbon, like other personality types, which can be helpful depending on how you approach it and the interpretation. Great as a starting point or a point of reference, but not as a – this is who you are and that’s that. Because we’re all so much more and we’re individual in our way of expressing who we are.

      No two Capricorns are the same, we may share similarities but that is just where two lines meet for a moment.

      Thank you for sharing, Happy Cappy season (coming soon to a timeline near you)!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My moon is in Cap, a very hard placement, because we’re cold on the outside but volcanic on the inside. Apparently this moon placements shows a mother lacking in emotional bounding, and my Gemini sun, Scorpio moon mother is this way to a T, not to mention manipulative like a Gemini, and possessive like a Scorpio.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

      One of the things I love about astrology is that it explores both the negative and positive sides of a sign and blends them together, showing the interplay of duality and the value in all aspects.

      The Moon in Capricorn is considered a tough placement, but perhaps the toughness of that placement gives those who have it a strength of emotion which is worth the challenge of it. Are you perhaps more aware of your emotions because of it, and more conscious of the impact of emotions, your own and that of others?

      What house is your Moon in? My Virgo Moon is in the 12th which supposedly shows the mother as a hidden enemy, which is pretty accurate. But it can also mean that my own emotions are my enemy, especially when I detach from them and don’t get in touch with what I’m feeling.

      Astrology is a fascinating and insightful way to look into the experiences we have in life, through relationships with others and those we have with ourselves, and see things from another perspective. However it can only tell us so much… we do the rest ourselves, and often use it as a language to explain what can’t be spoken another way.

      Like

  3. In my research there are definite clues to narcissism with certain placements. It may not guarantee them, but I feel they can be strong influences.

    South Node in Capricorn. The person comes into this life with a grandiose sense of self, high status, needing respect as they move towards their caring side of North Node in Cancer.

    Sun in the 7th house. These people usually need self esteem through other people and may over compensate for it and blame others for their own flaws, completely oblivious to it.

    Moon in the 12th house. The narcissist I knew would always shout “This is my world! This is my world!” They’ve had the previous placements as well.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

      It’s intriguing to explore the natal chart of someone whom we think is a narcissist, as in some ways it can explain to us that perhaps this person has to be the way that they are. If their chart placements confirm their propensity to be narcissistic, then perhaps they’re meant to be narcissistic in this lifetime and have that experience.

      Or maybe their narcissistic tendencies stem from the growing pains of dealing with their natal placements.

      There is however our own natal chart to consider, as it will affect how we see and experience the world and other people, and also how we interpret their charts – as those interpretations will be coloured by the placements in our chart.

      Every interaction which we have is our natal chart interacting with their natal chart. So if we experience someone else as a narcissist, that experience must include the data in our own chart, and the subjective bias which it brings to our perspective.

      Perhaps those people we see as being narcissists are indeed narcissists or maybe it’s our chart which experiences them that way because of the challenges which it poses for us, such as our own resistance to learning our North Node lesson.

      Have you compared your chart with this person’s chart and looked at the interaction of the two to see how that plays out for you. Have you checked out your own 7th house to see if your experience of them is perhaps explained through it. Is your experience of them about them and their chart or about you and your chart and what you’re learning through it (and through them)

      That last question is my own chart talking, I have NN conjunct Chiron in the 7th, I learn a lot about myself by the problems which I have with others, and vice versa. Most of my problems with others can be explained by the challenges in my own chart.

      I have Moon in 12th, btw. I hadn’t considered this as a narcissistic placement – there are other placements in my chart which seem far more prone to that. It’s an intriguing idea.

      Like

Comments are closed.